No Charge Dismissals
A failure to provide proof of financial responsibility citation may be dismissed with no charge to the defendant:
Defendants who receive a citation for failure to provide proof of financial responsibility may have this offense dismissed at no charge by providing proof to the court that either the defendant or the vehicle listed on the citation was covered on the date and time the citation was issued. Proof must be submitted to the court by the appearance date on the citation. The court is required by law to verify coverage with the insurance carrier.
Defendants who did not have valid financial responsibility at the time they received the citation and want to request deferred disposition (probation) must provide proof of current valid financial responsibility at the time the deferred disposition request is made. Payment arrangements may be requested when appearing before the Municipal Judge in open court.
A second or subsequent conviction of an offense under the Texas Motor Vehicles Safety Responsibility Act will result in the suspension of your driver's license and motor vehicle registration unless you file and maintain proof of financial responsibility with the Texas Department of Public Safety for two (2) years from date of conviction. The department may waive the requirement to file proof of financial responsibility if you file satisfactory evidence with the department showing that at the time this citation was issued the vehicle was covered by a liability insurance policy or that you were otherwise exempt from the requirements to provide evidence of financial responsibility.
Dismissals with Fee
The following offenses may be dismissed with a dismissal fee if the defendant provides the required documentation to the court. Please contact the court for information regarding eligibility requirements on these citations. The court will have your citation after two business days of the date of violation. The dismissal fee must be paid at the time of the request.
- Expired driver's license
- Expired motor vehicle registration
- Fail to display driver's license
- Fail to change address / name on driver's license
- Operate motor vehicle without license plates
- Operate motor vehicle with altered, unclean or obscured license plates
- Operate vehicle with defective required equipment
The state of Texas requires you to provide the court with the proof listed below to qualify for dismissals with fee:
- Expired driver's license · the driver's license renewal issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety showing that the driver's license was renewed within 20 business days from the date the citation was issued or the appearance date written on the front lower portion of the citation, whichever is later.
- Expired motor vehicle registration · the computer printout from the county tax assessor's office verifying that the vehicle was registered within 20 business days from the date of the citation or the appearance date written on the front lower portion of the citation, whichever is later, AND the defendant paid any applicable penalty fees.
- Fail to display driver's license · provide the Court with a driver's license that was valid at the time the citation was issued.
- Fail to change address / name on driver's license · the driver's license renewal issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety or a confirmation page from the DPS website showing the address / name change.